Portrait of a group of medical practitioners standing together in a hospital

Anthony C. Chang Award for Excellence in Pediatric Cardiac Intensive Care

Honors an attending physician who has demonstrated exemplary contributions to the field of pediatric cardiac intensive care and PCICS.

Anthony Chang Award Recipients

2010: David L. Wessel, MD
2012: Robert Bartlett, MD
2014: Peter C. Laussen, MBBS
2016: Gil Wernovsky, MD
2018: Paul Checchia, MD
2020: Ravi R. Thiagarajan, MBBS, MPH
2022: Lara Shekerdemian, MD, ChB, MHA, MB

Patricia Hickey Award for Excellence in Pediatric Cardiovascular Nursing

Recognizes a nurse who has made exceptional contributions to the field of pediatric cardiac nursing, through excellence in patient care, research, or leadership, and furthered the mission and vision of PCICS.

Patricia Hickey Award Recipients

2016: Patricia Hickey, PhD, MBA, RN
2018: Kathy Mussatto, PhD, RN
2020: Sandra Staveski, PhD, RN, CPNP-AC, FAAN
2022: Louise Callow, MSN, CPNP

PCICS Service Awards

Recognizes a society member who has demonstrated exemplary effort and contributions to further the mission of the society.

PCICS Service Award Recipients

2008: Anthony C. Chang, MD
2010: Timothy F. Feltes, MD
2012: Therese M. Giglia, MD
2014: Timothy M. Hoffman, MD
2016: Peter C. Laussen, MD
2018: Melissa B Jones, MSN, APRN, CPNP-AC
2020: Dorothy Beke, MS, RN, CPNP-PC/AC
2020: David S. Cooper, MD, MPH
2020: Lindsey Justice, DNP, APRN, CPNP-AC
2022: Darren Klugman, MD
2022: David Werho, MD
2022: Jill Zender, APRN, CPNP-AC

Bedside Nursing Excellence Award

Recognizing contributions to the pediatric cardiac intensive care unit, outstanding clinical practice, and compassionate care of patients and families.

2022 Beside Nursing Excellence Award Recipients:

(Click on the individual’s name to read about their inspiring work)

Virginia Mae Enad, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Kelly Gray, Medical City Children’s Hospital
Tanya Kopke, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital
Colleeen Muscatello, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
Nadia Pendelton, Children’s National Hospital
Suzette Riddick, Children’s Hospital Colorado

2022 Beside Nursing Excellence Award Nominees:

Terry Ackerman, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
Jennifer Alberts, University of Michigan, Pediatric Cardiothoracic Unit
Sonia Almeida – Santos, Boston Children's Hospital
Lindsey Bernath, Children’s Minnesota
Joye Bricker, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Lori Buckingham, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Cindy Desrosiers, Phoenix Children's
Heather Entwistle, Boston Children's Hospital
Shelly Folsom, Yale New Haven Children's Hospital
Stephanie Fortier, Yale New Haven Children's Hospital
Chantell Gignac, Hospital for Sick Children
Dana Gray, Phoenix Children's Hospital
Laura Grealish, Boston Children's Hospital
Gina Madrid, Rady Children's Hospital
Shauna O'Brien, Boston Children's Hospital
Colleen O'Shaughnessy, Boston Children’s Hospital
Christine Placidi, Boston Children's Hospital
Lisa Rizzi-Wagner, Children's Hospital Los Angeles
Christine Rodgers, Medical University of South Carolina
Ellen Scanlon, Lucile Packard Children's Hospital Stanford
Margaret Seltzer, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Jenny Seo, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
Angela Sorensen, Boston Children's Hospital
Mihoko Tam, Boston Children's Hospital