Quality Improvement and Safety (QI-S) Committee February 2021 Update


A big thank-you to Dr. Michael-Alice Moga, our outgoing Quality Improvement and Safety (QI-S) committee co-chair, for all of her hard work and efforts in rebuilding the QI-S committee. We look forward to Dr. Moga’s continued involvement and mentorship. Also, thank you to Melina Handley, our current QI-S committee co-chair, for her continued work and dedication to the committee, and welcome to Dr. Dana Mueller, our incoming QI-S committee co-chair. She is very excited to work with Melina to continue to lead the QI-S committee. We appreciate all of our current members’ involvement and contributions, and look forward to our new committee member additions in 2021, as well!

The QI-S committee spent the last year building out three subcommittees, including Education, Research and Development, and Outreach and Resources. Through these subcommittees, we hope to improve the quality and availability of QI-S resources and education for PCICS members, in an effort to improve understanding and successful execution of the QI-S process. Each subcommittee has identified primary goals to help to accomplish these efforts, and is collaborating with other PCICS committees to better succeed in achieving these efforts. The Education subcommittee is focused on development of various content items, the Outreach and Resources subcommittee is working on developing a platform to make resources more accessible to PCICS members, and the Research and Development Committee is focused on reviewing abstracts and surveys and promoting the science of quality-driven research.

If anyone is interested in participating on one of our subcommittees, or has any questions about the QI-S committee, please feel free to contact Dana Mueller or Melina Handley.


Melina M. Handley, DNP, PNP-AC, ARNP, CNE

APP Supervisor & Nurse Practitioner – Cardiac Critical Care
Seattle Children’s Hospital


Dana Mueller, MD

Pediatric Cardiac Intensivist
Rady Children’s Hospital
University of California San Diego School of Medicine